Regional Plans

Barkly Regional Council engages constituents through its 13 elected Councillors and seven Local Authorities to develop and publish yearly regional plans.

Previously called a Shire Plan, the Regional Plan is published annually and guides the operations of our council as we strive to achieve our vision.

The Barkly Regional Council's Regional Plans are developed in consultation with staff and communities, approved by council and tabled with the Northern Territory Government.

The Regional Plans provided below describe the vision for our region and explains what we do and our operating environment for each projected period addressing our vision, mission and values and how we plan to achieve our vision.



This Local Government Regional Management Plan (RMP) for the Central Australian Region is a statutory instrument under part 3.1 of the Local Government Act 2008 (NT). It comes into effect on 1 July 2011 and has a term of 4 years, during which time it can be reviewed.

The local government bodies covered by terms of this plan are:

i) MacDonnell Shire Council; ii) Central Desert Shire Council; iii) Barkly Shire Council; iv) Alice Springs Town Council

Review of the Constitutional Arrangement for Council Electoral Representation

Completed 8 July 2020